MN to Az to FL and back….. ;)

Thanks everyone for reading my third blog post!

In my last blog I spoke about the importance of figuring out how to find your passion, and how I “thought” I wasted 8 years of my life being a low end Nursing Aide with a partial college education. This experience blessed me (in disguise) with not only humbling my soul and heart, but also guided my family and I down a winding path of different destinations and experiences. We had a lot of nay-sayers and people concerned ย for us.. but, it didn’t stop us. We kept plugging along… in hopes of making more money and proving a “point”.

Referring back to my first post, I mentioned that I made an impulsive decision to move my family to Arizona on account of a Pediatric Technician position. ย I learned ย a lot from that job, I learned what I didn’t want in life and what I certainly needed to keep my sanity and compassion for others. Sad to say, I was mistreated at work by a couple bully nurses, I felt wounded and my self-esteem took a major dive! I didn’t know what was wrong with me or why I was being such a push-over. I’ve always nurtured the thought, that if I worked hard and helped everyone, and made a point of treating everyone with compassion and understanding, that life would be alright. So WRONG! I learned a lot about myself and the world around me in those short 6 months of poor treatment. I did a lot of praying and thinking and ended up leaving Arizona for the sake of emotion and etc…

Between 2011 and 2013 we moved to Arizona, back to Minnesota and after I graduated with my B.A we decided to move to Brandon, Florida so Greg could start his Registered Nurse program. We thought it would be a fun adventure for us to explore Florida for awhile and see how we liked sub-tropical weather. Thankfully, we found a way to make it happen. It ended up being a very good learning experience, we explored the towns and the beaches and learned a lot about the Floridians that lived there and also made some wonderful new friends.

Again, we found ourselves moving back to Minnesota (temporarily) to save money on the family farm land and continue our advanced degrees- hoping this would be the final straw in our educational endeavors, leading to a higher hourly wage. I still felt torn, but, I knew that I had to continue if I wanted to extend those student loans out. I made the decision in fall 2013 to begin my Master’s in Alcohol and Drug Counseling, and lock myself into 2 more years of graduate level education-crazy! My husband began his Registered nursing program (again-transferred to a new location) that winter 2013/2014 as well. Again, we were going down a path that would soon enlighten us and bring joy to all these set-backs and “seemingly” mistakes of moving around. ย These were never mistakes, all blessings from above, disguised as experiences helping shape our future, dreams and destinations!

2 thoughts on “MN to Az to FL and back….. ;)

  1. Florida is probably my favorite state. Brandon is in the Tampa area correct? From what I remember there were a few nightclubs and country bars there… I miss it! Good luck in Arizona! We will be freezing up here by Canada for a while longer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t mind Florida, it was the extreme humidity and over population that drove us crazy..lol.
      Yes, Brandon is a massive suburban area outside of Tampa.
      If I lived on the outskirts or ha more money to be closer to the beach it probably would’ve been better. Hopefully, a 5th wheeler will make it better…especially going to the keys!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yeah, im currently freezing in mn, can’t wait to drive back to Arizona…gorgeous there

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

